Our History

ndMacLean Funeral Home was founded in the early 1920’s by N.D. MacLean who was the first licensed embalmer on Prince Edward Island. Mr. MacLean led an active career life serving as the administrator of the PEI Hospital, following his retirement from funeral service.

James A P Allen During this time, the funeral home was owned and operated by James and Marjorie Allen who served their community for over 20 years. Upon their retirement in 1979, the funeral home was purchased by Allison and Gail Swan.

Situated on Ole King Square, the funeral home is only minutes away from Province House, the Confederation Centre of the Arts and the beautiful waterfront that is so much a part of the charm of Prince Edward Island’s capital city. It is interesting to note that as early as the late 1800’s a funeral home was located on this site.

MacLean Funeral Home’s long-standing history of tradition and compassion serves as a testament to the services that have been provided to families for over three-quarters of a century.

Throughout the years, many challenges have been overcome, perhaps the most devastating being a fire, which completely destroyed the funeral home in January 1974.

funeral fire 1